Press Release: Conservation Organizations Enthusiastic about Governor’s Plan for the Elliott


For Immediate Release May 4, 2017 Contacts:   Josh Laughlin, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 844-8182 Doug Moore, Oregon League of Conservation Voters, (503) 729-5175   Salem, OR – The Oregon Conservation Network (OCN) is pleased to see the plan released today from the Governor’s office regarding the Elliott State Forest. As a coalition, we care deeply … Continue reading Press Release: Conservation Organizations Enthusiastic about Governor’s Plan for the Elliott

Press Release: Oregon Wolf Recovery Stagnant in 2016, Changes to Wolf Plan Concern Wolf Advocates


For immediate release April 11, 2017 Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746   Today the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife released its 2016 annual report for wolf recovery as well as its draft update to the Oregon Wolf Plan. Of particular interest, the annual report shows that wolf packs and breeding pairs documented in … Continue reading Press Release: Oregon Wolf Recovery Stagnant in 2016, Changes to Wolf Plan Concern Wolf Advocates

Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California


For Immediate Release, March 14, 2017   Contacts:         Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Greg Loarie, Earthjustice, (415) 217-2000, gloarie@earthjustice.org Tom Wheeler, Environmental Protection Information Center, (707) 822-7711, tom@wildcalifornia.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, (541) 488-5789, joseph@kswild.org   Conservation Groups Oppose Effort … Continue reading Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California

Conservation Groups Decry Vote by State Treasurer, Secretary of State to Sell Elliott State Forest


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  Contact: Bob Sallinger, 503.380.9728 or bsallinger@audubonportland.org  Josh Laughlin, 541.844.8182 or jlaughlin@cascwild.org  Doug Moore, 503.729.5175 or dmoore@olcv.org    Conservation groups decry vote by State Treasurer, Secretary of State to Sell Elliott State Forest  Governor puts forward solid plan to keep 83,000-acre forest public.   Salem, Oregon—February 15, 2017 – A broad coalition of … Continue reading Conservation Groups Decry Vote by State Treasurer, Secretary of State to Sell Elliott State Forest

Reflections on the Enormous Victory in Northern Cascadia and Coming Full Circle


by Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands House Counsel Ready for some good news? Last week our partners at Eyak Preservation Council announced that the major part of Alaska’s Bering River Coalfield, and the old-growth forest on top of it, has been permanently protected!   Several things about this historic victory make it especially sweet. Ecologically it protects … Continue reading Reflections on the Enormous Victory in Northern Cascadia and Coming Full Circle

Lawsuit Launched to Protect Washington Rivers, Salmon from Destructive Suction Dredge Mining


Harmful Gold-mining Method Already Restricted in California, Oregon For Immediate Release, January 10, 2017   Contact: Gabriel Scott, Cascadia Wildlands (541) 434-1463 gscott@cascwild.org  Jonathan Evans, Center for Biological Diversity, (510) 844-7118, jevans@biologicaldiversity.org    OLYMPIA, Wash.— Conservation groups filed a notice of intent today to sue the state of Washington for allowing highly destructive suction dredge mining in rivers … Continue reading Lawsuit Launched to Protect Washington Rivers, Salmon from Destructive Suction Dredge Mining

Court Halts Logging of Elliott State Forest Tract Sold to Timber Company


For Immediate Release, December 20, 2016   Contact:          Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746                        Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 484-7495 Bob Sallinger, Portland Audubon, (503) 380-9728   Court Halts Logging of Elliott State Forest Tract Sold to Timber Company  Old-Growth Clearcutting Stopped to Protect Threatened Marbled Murrelets   EUGENE, Ore.— A U.S. District Court in Eugene has … Continue reading Court Halts Logging of Elliott State Forest Tract Sold to Timber Company

Post-election Thoughts: Action is the Antidote to Despair


Today, Joan Baez’s trusty adage “action is the antidote to despair” fills my brain.   I woke up yesterday morning and took a long, hot shower, trying to forever rinse away the results of the 45th presidential election. Border walls, nuclear codes, women’s liberation, wars, public lands, climate change, imperiled species, the future my kids … Continue reading Post-election Thoughts: Action is the Antidote to Despair

Poll: Most Oregonians Oppose Hunting of Wolves, Favor Nonlethal Conflict Prevention


For Immediate Release October 7, 2016   Contacts: >Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org >Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org >Catalina Tresky, Defenders of Wildlife, (202) 772-0253, ctresky@defenders.org >Lia Cheek, Endangered Species Coalition, (617) 840-4983, lcheek@endangered.org >Arran Robertson, Oregon Wild, (503) 283-6343 x 223, ar@oregonwild.org >Lindsay Raber, Pacific Wolf Coalition, (928) … Continue reading Poll: Most Oregonians Oppose Hunting of Wolves, Favor Nonlethal Conflict Prevention

Tongass Groundtruth Expedition: 2016


Photos by Jacob Ritley, Tongass Groundtruth Expedition, 2016. Thanks to LUSH Foundation for their generous support. Southeast Alaska's Alexander Archipelago is made up of thousands of islands large and small. Small boats and floatplanes are the dominant modes of transportation.  Old-growth clearcutting is ongoing this summer on the Big Thorne timber sale, Prince of Wales Island.  … Continue reading Tongass Groundtruth Expedition: 2016