Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals


For Immediate Release July 6, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org     Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Steve Pedery, Oregon Wild, (503) 283-6343 ext. 212, sp@oregonwild.org        Oregon Appeals Court Reinstates Legal Challenge to Premature Wolf Delisting   PORTLAND, Ore.— The Oregon Court of Appeals has … Continue reading Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals

Cascadia Wildlands and Conservation Allies Challenge BLM Forest Plans in Oregon


For Immediate Release  May 16, 2016   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Todd True, Earthjustice, 206-343-7340, ext. 1030, ttrue@earthjustice.org Susan Jane Brown, Western Environmental Law Center, 503-680-5513, brown@westernlaw.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, 541-488-5789, joseph@kswild.org   Glen Spain, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen’s Associations, 541-689-2000, fish1ifr@aol.com Steve Holmer, American Bird Conservancy, 202-888-7490, sholmer@abcbirds.org … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands and Conservation Allies Challenge BLM Forest Plans in Oregon

Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill


For immediate release May 2, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Legal Director, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org   Ethics Complaint Filed Against State Representatives Over Gray Wolf Delisting Legislation   EUGENE, OR – Today, Cascadia Wildlands submitted a complaint to the Oregon Government Ethics Commission alleging numerous false statements and misrepresentations made by State Representatives … Continue reading Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill

Fed’s Failure to Protect Wolverines Ruled Illegal


For Immediate Release April 4, 2015 Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Matthew Bishop, Western Environmental Law Center, 406-422-9866, bishop@westernlaw.org Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, 406-414-7227, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org .. Judge Rules Feds Improperly Refused to Protect Wolverines Orders Reconsideration of Safeguards for Species Imperiled by Climate Change .. MISSOULA, Mont. – Today, the federal district court … Continue reading Fed’s Failure to Protect Wolverines Ruled Illegal

Federal Court in Oregon Rejects Miners’ Challenge to Suction-dredge Regulations


For Immediate Release March 25, 2016   Contact Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands (541) 434-1463 Forrest English, Rogue Riverkeeper 541-261-2030 Roger Flynn, Mining Action Project 303-823-5738 Lori Ann Burd, Center for Biological Diversity 971-717-6405 Jake Crawford, Native Fish Society (720) 253-8485   Federal Court Upholds Oregon’s Right to Protect Water Quality and Fish Habitat Court Finds … Continue reading Federal Court in Oregon Rejects Miners’ Challenge to Suction-dredge Regulations

FERC Denies Jordan Cove LNG Permit! Major Victory for Oregon


Friday, March 11, 2016: The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) laid out a major victory today for Oregon communities, wildlife, waterways, and wildlands, when they DENIED the plans to construct a Liquid Natural Gas (LNG) Pipeline through the state of Oregon, and also denied the plans for its associated Jordan Cove export terminal out of … Continue reading FERC Denies Jordan Cove LNG Permit! Major Victory for Oregon

House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves


It is astonishing to folks at Cascadia Wildlands that House Bill 4040 (HB4040) was even a topic of conversation this “short” legislative session. Every other year, the Oregon legislature holds a short session that only lasts around one month, and because of the limited time for discussion and debate, usually only non-controversial bills are taken up. However, this … Continue reading House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves

Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon


For Immediate Release, February 3, 2016   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org John Mellgren, Western Law Environmental Center, (541) 359-0990, mellgren@westernlaw.org Amy Atwood, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 504-5660, atwood@biologicaldiversity.org Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, (503) 327-4923, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org Brooks Fahy, Predator Defense, (541) 937-4261, brooks@predatordefense.org Camilla Fox, Project Coyote, (415) 690-0338, cfox@projectcoyote.org   … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon

Public Lands Rallies Planned Across Oregon


#RefugeRally Announced for Tuesday, Jan 19th Public will gather to support Malheur refuge, celebrate national public lands OREGON/WASHINGTON- Rallies supporting Malheur National Wildlife Refuge and public lands will be held across Oregon and Washington Tuesday, January 19th at noon. The public is invited to join this statewide event expressing appreciation for national public lands, their … Continue reading Public Lands Rallies Planned Across Oregon

Suit Filed to Restore Endangered Species Act Protections for Wolves in Oregon


For immediate release December 30, 2015   Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands / 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity / 971-717-6403, ngreenwald@biologicaldiversity.org Rob Klavins, Oregon Wild / 541-886-0212, rk@oregonwild.org   PORTLAND, Ore.— Three conservation groups filed a legal challenge  today to the removal of protection from gray wolves under Oregon's Endangered Species Act. … Continue reading Suit Filed to Restore Endangered Species Act Protections for Wolves in Oregon