Press Release: 2021 Worst Year for Oregon’s Wolf Population Growth Since Return


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEApril 20, 2022 Contact: Bethany Cotton, Cascadia Wildlands, bethany@cascwild.org, 503.327.4923 Species’ Recovery Undermined by Poaching, ODFW Killings EUGENE, OR — Conservationists are concerned about the plateau of Oregon’s wolf … Continue reading Press Release: 2021 Worst Year for Oregon’s Wolf Population Growth Since Return

Press Release: Groups Offer Reward for Another Recent Illegal Wolf Killing


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEFebruary 23, 2022 CONTACTS:Bethany Cotton, Cascadia Wildlands, (503) 327-4923, bethany@cascwild.orgKelly Peterson, Humane Society of the United States, (503) 869-0422, kpeterson@humanesociety.orgSophia Ressler, Center for Biological Diversity, (206) 399-4004, sressler@biologicaldiversity.orgBrooks Fahy, … Continue reading Press Release: Groups Offer Reward for Another Recent Illegal Wolf Killing

Press Release: VICTORY! Wolves’ Endangered Species Status Restored


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:February 10, 2022 CONTACTS:Bethany Cotton, Cascadia Wildlands, 503-327-4923, bethany@cascwild.orgKelly Nokes, Western Environmental Law Center, 575-613-8051, nokes@westernlaw.orgErik Molvar, Western Watersheds Project, 307-399-7910, emolvar@westernwatersheds.orgLindsay Larris, WildEarth Guardians, 310-923-1465, llarris@wildearthguardians.org Judge … Continue reading Press Release: VICTORY! Wolves’ Endangered Species Status Restored

Official 2017 Washington Wolf Count Released


The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife released its official 2017 wolf count this past Friday.  You can find the report in full here, but fourteen wolves were killed by … Continue reading Official 2017 Washington Wolf Count Released

Press release: Gray wolves documented on Oregon’s Mt. Hood


For immediate release January 16, 2018 Contact: Josh Laughlin, Cascadia Wildlands, 541-844-8182   The Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife announced today that two gray wolves have been documented on … Continue reading Press release: Gray wolves documented on Oregon’s Mt. Hood

Reward Boosted to $20,000 in Search for Killer of Two Washington Wolves


For Immediate Release, December 11, 2017 Contact:   Nick Cady, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org  Noah Greenwald, (503) 484-7495, ngreenwald@biologicaldiversity.org          Reward Boosted to $20,000 in Search for Killer of Two … Continue reading Reward Boosted to $20,000 in Search for Killer of Two Washington Wolves

Press Release: Conservation Groups Boost Reward to $16,750 for Oregon Wolf-killer Amid Poaching Surge


For Immediate Release November 8, 2017 Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Wally Sykes, Northeast Oregon Ecosystems, (541) 263-2125, … Continue reading Press Release: Conservation Groups Boost Reward to $16,750 for Oregon Wolf-killer Amid Poaching Surge

The Deja Vu of Killing Wolves


Late last month, the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife announced that it would shoot up to four wolves in the Harl Butte pack. Again. In August, following conflicts between wolves and livestock in the same area, the Department killed another four wolves from the same pack.