Opinion: Biden’s old-growth forest executive order has giant hole


by Bethany Cotton, Conservation Director for Cascadia WildlandsOriginally published in The Register-Guard, May 1, 2022 Last month, in honor of Earth Day, President Biden signed an executive order on Strengthening … Continue reading Opinion: Biden’s old-growth forest executive order has giant hole

Press Release: 2021 Worst Year for Oregon’s Wolf Population Growth Since Return


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEApril 20, 2022 Contact: Bethany Cotton, Cascadia Wildlands, bethany@cascwild.org, 503.327.4923 Species’ Recovery Undermined by Poaching, ODFW Killings EUGENE, OR — Conservationists are concerned about the plateau of Oregon’s wolf … Continue reading Press Release: 2021 Worst Year for Oregon’s Wolf Population Growth Since Return

Press Release: Oregon Department of Forestry Moves Flawed Endangered Species Plan Forward 


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEMarch 17, 2022  Contact:         Grace Brahler, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 393-8178, grace@cascwild.orgNoah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 484-7495, ngreenwald@biologicaldiversity.org Jennifer Fairbrother, Native Fish Society, (541) 602-0696, jennifer@nativefishsociety.org                       Draft Plan Fails to Address Impacts … Continue reading Press Release: Oregon Department of Forestry Moves Flawed Endangered Species Plan Forward 

Press Release: Legal Victory Saves Threatened Old-growth Forest in Southern Oregon


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEMarch 11, 2022 Contacts:Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands (541) 937-5512Meriel Darzen, Crag Law Center (503) 525-2725George Sexton, KS Wild (541) 778-8120Doug Heiken, Oregon Wild (541) 915-2329 Conservation Lawsuit Convinces … Continue reading Press Release: Legal Victory Saves Threatened Old-growth Forest in Southern Oregon

Press Release: Victory for the Elliott State Forest!


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEMarch 3, 2022 Contact:Josh Laughlin, Cascadia Wildlands, 541-844-8182; jlaughlin@cascwild.orgBob Sallinger, Portland Audubon, 503-380-9728; bsallinger@audubonportland.orgBrett Brownscombe, Wild Salmon Center, 503-669-5025; bbrownscombe@wildsalmoncenter.orgDoug Moore, Oregon League of Conservation Voters, 503-729-5175; dmoore@olcv.org Oregon … Continue reading Press Release: Victory for the Elliott State Forest!

Press Release: Groups Offer Reward for Another Recent Illegal Wolf Killing


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEFebruary 23, 2022 CONTACTS:Bethany Cotton, Cascadia Wildlands, (503) 327-4923, bethany@cascwild.orgKelly Peterson, Humane Society of the United States, (503) 869-0422, kpeterson@humanesociety.orgSophia Ressler, Center for Biological Diversity, (206) 399-4004, sressler@biologicaldiversity.orgBrooks Fahy, … Continue reading Press Release: Groups Offer Reward for Another Recent Illegal Wolf Killing