Press Release: Oregon Wolf Recovery Stagnant in 2016, Changes to Wolf Plan Concern Wolf Advocates


For immediate release April 11, 2017 Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746   Today the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife released its 2016 annual report for wolf recovery as well as its draft update to the Oregon Wolf Plan. Of particular interest, the annual report shows that wolf packs and breeding pairs documented in … Continue reading Press Release: Oregon Wolf Recovery Stagnant in 2016, Changes to Wolf Plan Concern Wolf Advocates

Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California


For Immediate Release, March 14, 2017   Contacts:         Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Greg Loarie, Earthjustice, (415) 217-2000, gloarie@earthjustice.org Tom Wheeler, Environmental Protection Information Center, (707) 822-7711, tom@wildcalifornia.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, (541) 488-5789, joseph@kswild.org   Conservation Groups Oppose Effort … Continue reading Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California

Wolves Being Killed in Northeast Washington


For Immediate Release, August 3, 2016 Contacts:  Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.orgAmaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org John Mellgren, Western Environmental Law Center, (541) 359-0990, mellgren@westernlaw.org Wildlife Agency to Kill Wolves in Northeast Washington Members of Profanity Peak Pack To Be Targeted in Ferry County OLYMPIA, Wash.— Washington Department of … Continue reading Wolves Being Killed in Northeast Washington

Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals


For Immediate Release July 6, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org     Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Steve Pedery, Oregon Wild, (503) 283-6343 ext. 212, sp@oregonwild.org        Oregon Appeals Court Reinstates Legal Challenge to Premature Wolf Delisting   PORTLAND, Ore.— The Oregon Court of Appeals has … Continue reading Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals

Cascadia Wildlands and Conservation Allies Challenge BLM Forest Plans in Oregon


For Immediate Release  May 16, 2016   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Todd True, Earthjustice, 206-343-7340, ext. 1030, ttrue@earthjustice.org Susan Jane Brown, Western Environmental Law Center, 503-680-5513, brown@westernlaw.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, 541-488-5789, joseph@kswild.org   Glen Spain, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen’s Associations, 541-689-2000, fish1ifr@aol.com Steve Holmer, American Bird Conservancy, 202-888-7490, sholmer@abcbirds.org … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands and Conservation Allies Challenge BLM Forest Plans in Oregon

Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill


For immediate release May 2, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Legal Director, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org   Ethics Complaint Filed Against State Representatives Over Gray Wolf Delisting Legislation   EUGENE, OR – Today, Cascadia Wildlands submitted a complaint to the Oregon Government Ethics Commission alleging numerous false statements and misrepresentations made by State Representatives … Continue reading Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill

Lawsuit Challenges Alaska Road Project from Ketchikan to Shelter Cove


For Immediate Release, April 14, 2016   Contact:     Larry Edwards, Greenpeace, (907) 747-7557, larry.edwards@greenpeace.org Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands, (907) 491-0856, gscott@cascwild.org Dune Lankard, Center for Biological Diversity, (907) 952-5265, dlankard@biologicaldiversity.org   Lawsuit Challenges Road Project From Ketchikan to Shelter Cove   KETCHIKAN, Alaska  Five environmental groups sued the U.S. Forest Service and U.S. Army … Continue reading Lawsuit Challenges Alaska Road Project from Ketchikan to Shelter Cove

House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves


by Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands legal director   It is astonishing to folks at Cascadia Wildlands that House Bill 4040 (HB4040) was even a topic of conversation this "short" legislative session. Every other year, the Oregon legislature holds a short session that only lasts around one month, and because of the limited time for discussion and debate, usually … Continue reading House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves