Oregon Board of Forestry Grants Petition to Protect Coho Salmon from Private and State Logging


SALEM, Ore.— Late Wednesday afternoon after hours of deliberation, the Oregon Board of Forestry voted 5-2 to accept a petition for rulemaking on coho salmon. The petition was brought by 22 different conservation and fishing groups under a rarely used portion of the Forest Practices Act which requires the Board to consider forest protections on … Continue reading Oregon Board of Forestry Grants Petition to Protect Coho Salmon from Private and State Logging

New Western Oregon Forest Management Plan Challenged


For immediate release August 9, 2016 Contacts:  Susan Jane Brown, Western Environmental Law Center, 503-680-5513, brown@westernlaw.org  Todd True, Earthjustice, 206-343-7340, ext. 1030, ttrue@earthjustice.org  John Kober, Pacific Rivers, 503-915-6677, john@pacificrivers.org  Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, 541-488-5789, joseph@kswild.org Doug Heiken, Oregon Wild, 541-344-0675, dh@oregonwild.org Megan Birzell, The Wilderness Society, 206-348-3597, megan_birzell@tws.org Stakeholder Groups Challenge Oregon … Continue reading New Western Oregon Forest Management Plan Challenged

BLM Signs Devastating New Management Plan for Oregon’s Forests!


by Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands Legal Director On August 5, the Bureau of Land Management signed a new management plan for western Oregon.  Cascadia Wildlands and our conservation allies protested the initial draft of this plan, but the BLM's decision yesterday largely ignored all our points of contention.   From a broad perspective, the plan will … Continue reading BLM Signs Devastating New Management Plan for Oregon’s Forests!

A Clearcut Decision


By Bob Ferris   Francis Eatherington and I walked some timber sales yesterday near Roseburg (these are her pictures).  It was good for us to spend time together because we do not often get to do that—particularly where we get to walk in the trees and talk in that way that people do when walking … Continue reading A Clearcut Decision