Press Release: 9th Circuit Court of Appeals Upholds State Efforts to Protect Salmon Habitat from Mining


For immediate release September 12, 2018 Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Pete Frost, Western Environmental Law Center, 541-359-3238, frost@westernlaw.org Stacey Detwiler, Rogue Riverkeeper, (541) 488-9831, stacey@rogueriverkeeper.org Jonathan Evans, Center for Biological Diversity, (510) 844-7118, jevans@biologicaldiversity.org PORTLAND, Ore.— This morning the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals upheld an Oregon law restricting motorized gold … Continue reading Press Release: 9th Circuit Court of Appeals Upholds State Efforts to Protect Salmon Habitat from Mining

Press Release: Lawsuit Filed Challenging Oregon’s Failure to Protect Murrelets


Agency Capitulates to Logging Industry, Ignores Science, Law, ODFW’s Mission For immediate release August 2, 2018 Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Quinn Read, Defenders of Wildlife, (206) 508-5474, qread@defenders.org Jared Margolis, Center for Biological Diversity, (802) 310-4054, jmargolis@biologicaldiversity.org  Joe Liebezeit, Audubon Society of Portland, (503) 329-6026 jliebezeit@audubonportland.org  Danielle Moser, Oregon Wild, (503)-283-6343 … Continue reading Press Release: Lawsuit Filed Challenging Oregon’s Failure to Protect Murrelets

Saving Oregon’s Famed Rivers and Wild Salmon from Gold Mining


by Nick Cady, Legal Director It has been a long road to suction-dredge mining reform in Oregon, but this campaign is close to finalizing permanent protections for Oregon’s iconic rivers and wild salmon.  Suction dredging is an incredibly harmful, gold-mining practice that involves sucking up fragile river bottoms through a large, gas-powered vacuum. This mining practice … Continue reading Saving Oregon’s Famed Rivers and Wild Salmon from Gold Mining