Conservation Groups Decry Vote by State Treasurer, Secretary of State to Sell Elliott State Forest


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE  Contact: Bob Sallinger, 503.380.9728 or bsallinger@audubonportland.org  Josh Laughlin, 541.844.8182 or jlaughlin@cascwild.org  Doug Moore, 503.729.5175 or dmoore@olcv.org    Conservation groups decry vote by State Treasurer, Secretary of State … Continue reading Conservation Groups Decry Vote by State Treasurer, Secretary of State to Sell Elliott State Forest

Response to Governor Brown’s Plan for the Elliott State Forest


Just days before the quarterly meeting of the State Land Board, Governor Brown released a framework for her plan for the Elliott State Forest. Though not an action item on … Continue reading Response to Governor Brown’s Plan for the Elliott State Forest

Court Halts Logging of Elliott State Forest Tract Sold to Timber Company


For Immediate Release, December 20, 2016   Contact:          Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746                        Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 484-7495 Bob Sallinger, Portland Audubon, (503) 380-9728   Court Halts Logging of … Continue reading Court Halts Logging of Elliott State Forest Tract Sold to Timber Company

Oregon Board of Forestry Reverses Course, Will Develop Murrelet Protections


For Immediate Release, December 1, 2016 Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 484-7495, ngreenwald@biologicaldiversity.org Oregon Board of Forestry Reverses Course, Will … Continue reading Oregon Board of Forestry Reverses Course, Will Develop Murrelet Protections

Coyote Killing Contest Placing Oregon’s Wolves in Crosshairs


Federal Agencies Urged to Halt Coyote-hunting Contest in Oregon’s Lake County Contest Risks Killing Endangered Wolves, Breaking Wildlife Laws   PORTLAND, Ore.— Six wildlife conservation organizations representing nearly 212,000 Oregonians … Continue reading Coyote Killing Contest Placing Oregon’s Wolves in Crosshairs

Science Review Begins for Northwest Forest Plan Revision


For Immediate Release November 10, 2016   Northwest Forest Plan science synthesis review begins Will help inform forest management efforts in Pacific Northwest   Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org … Continue reading Science Review Begins for Northwest Forest Plan Revision

Oregon Board of Forestry Sued for Failure to Protect Marbled Murrelet Habitat


For Immediate Release September 30, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org               Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity, 503-484-7495, ngreenwald@biologicaldiveristy.org               Steve Pedery, Oregon Wild, … Continue reading Oregon Board of Forestry Sued for Failure to Protect Marbled Murrelet Habitat

New Western Oregon Forest Management Plan Challenged


For immediate release August 9, 2016 Contacts:  Susan Jane Brown, Western Environmental Law Center, 503-680-5513, brown@westernlaw.org  Todd True, Earthjustice, 206-343-7340, ext. 1030, ttrue@earthjustice.org  John Kober, Pacific Rivers, 503-915-6677, john@pacificrivers.org  Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, … Continue reading New Western Oregon Forest Management Plan Challenged

Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals


For Immediate Release July 6, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org     Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Steve Pedery, Oregon Wild, (503) … Continue reading Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals