Press Release: Trapping Ban Sought to Protect Imperiled Humboldt Marten


For Immediate Release, April 4, 2018 Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Tierra Curry, Center for Biological Diversity, (928) 522-3681, tcurry@biologicaldiversity.org Coastal Trapping Ban Sought to Protect Oregon’s Vanishing Humboldt Martens New Study Finds Traps Could Wipe Out Imperiled Otter Relative PORTLAND, Ore.— Five conservation groups filed a rulemaking petition today asking the … Continue reading Press Release: Trapping Ban Sought to Protect Imperiled Humboldt Marten

Oregon Killing Harl Butte Wolf Pack


August 3, 2017 For Immediate Release Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, nick@cascwild.org, (314) 482-3746 Oregon Killing Wolves Again in Imnaha Pack Territory Harl Butte Pack Targeted in Response to Depredations on Forest Service Lands Today, the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife signed a kill order for the Harl Butte  Pack in Northeastern Oregon.  The Harl Butte Pack … Continue reading Oregon Killing Harl Butte Wolf Pack

Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California


For Immediate Release, March 14, 2017   Contacts:         Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Greg Loarie, Earthjustice, (415) 217-2000, gloarie@earthjustice.org Tom Wheeler, Environmental Protection Information Center, (707) 822-7711, tom@wildcalifornia.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, (541) 488-5789, joseph@kswild.org   Conservation Groups Oppose Effort … Continue reading Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California

Coyote Killing Contest Placing Oregon’s Wolves in Crosshairs


Federal Agencies Urged to Halt Coyote-hunting Contest in Oregon’s Lake County Contest Risks Killing Endangered Wolves, Breaking Wildlife Laws   PORTLAND, Ore.— Six wildlife conservation organizations representing nearly 212,000 Oregonians are calling on the U.S. Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management to stop a coyote-hunting contest planned for Nov. 19-20. The groups are concerned … Continue reading Coyote Killing Contest Placing Oregon’s Wolves in Crosshairs

Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill


For immediate release May 2, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Legal Director, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org   Ethics Complaint Filed Against State Representatives Over Gray Wolf Delisting Legislation   EUGENE, OR – Today, Cascadia Wildlands submitted a complaint to the Oregon Government Ethics Commission alleging numerous false statements and misrepresentations made by State Representatives … Continue reading Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill

Fed’s Failure to Protect Wolverines Ruled Illegal


For Immediate Release                                         April 4, 2015   Contacts:     Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Matthew Bishop, Western Environmental Law Center, 406-422-9866, bishop@westernlaw.org   Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, 406-414-7227, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org       Judge Rules Feds Improperly Refused to Protect Wolverines Orders Reconsideration of Safeguards … Continue reading Fed’s Failure to Protect Wolverines Ruled Illegal

Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon


For Immediate Release, February 3, 2016   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org John Mellgren, Western Law Environmental Center, (541) 359-0990, mellgren@westernlaw.org Amy Atwood, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 504-5660, atwood@biologicaldiversity.org Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, (503) 327-4923, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org Brooks Fahy, Predator Defense, (541) 937-4261, brooks@predatordefense.org Camilla Fox, Project Coyote, (415) 690-0338, cfox@projectcoyote.org   … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon

Cascadia Files Petition to Extend Wolf Monitoring


Legal Petition Seeks Extension of Federal Monitoring for Northern Rockies Wolves New Study: Hunting Likely Spurring Harmful Declines in Northern Rocky Wolves   VICTOR, Idaho — Five conservation groups filed a petition today requesting that the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service continue monitoring northern Rocky Mountain gray wolves for another five years. The existing monitoring … Continue reading Cascadia Files Petition to Extend Wolf Monitoring

Suit Filed to Restore Endangered Species Act Protections for Wolves in Oregon


For immediate release December 30, 2015   Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands / 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Noah Greenwald, Center for Biological Diversity / 971-717-6403, ngreenwald@biologicaldiversity.org Rob Klavins, Oregon Wild / 541-886-0212, rk@oregonwild.org   PORTLAND, Ore.— Three conservation groups filed a legal challenge  today to the removal of protection from gray wolves under Oregon's Endangered Species Act. … Continue reading Suit Filed to Restore Endangered Species Act Protections for Wolves in Oregon

From Exterminated to a Rebounding Population: A Brief History of Wolves in Oregon


By Legal Director Nick Cady   Given the state’s recent move to remove the gray wolf from Oregon’s list of threatened and endangered species, it is worth taking a full look at the history of this species in Oregon to fully put in context the recent decision.   In 1947, the last wolf was killed … Continue reading From Exterminated to a Rebounding Population: A Brief History of Wolves in Oregon