Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California


For Immediate Release, March 14, 2017   Contacts:         Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Greg Loarie, Earthjustice, (415) 217-2000, gloarie@earthjustice.org Tom Wheeler, Environmental Protection Information Center, (707) 822-7711, tom@wildcalifornia.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, (541) 488-5789, joseph@kswild.org   Conservation Groups Oppose Effort … Continue reading Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California

Coyote Killing Contest Placing Oregon’s Wolves in Crosshairs


Federal Agencies Urged to Halt Coyote-hunting Contest in Oregon’s Lake County Contest Risks Killing Endangered Wolves, Breaking Wildlife Laws   PORTLAND, Ore.— Six wildlife conservation organizations representing nearly 212,000 Oregonians are calling on the U.S. Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management to stop a coyote-hunting contest planned for Nov. 19-20. The groups are concerned … Continue reading Coyote Killing Contest Placing Oregon’s Wolves in Crosshairs

Poll: Most Oregonians Oppose Hunting of Wolves, Favor Nonlethal Conflict Prevention


For Immediate Release October 7, 2016   Contacts: >Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org >Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org >Catalina Tresky, Defenders of Wildlife, (202) 772-0253, ctresky@defenders.org >Lia Cheek, Endangered Species Coalition, (617) 840-4983, lcheek@endangered.org >Arran Robertson, Oregon Wild, (503) 283-6343 x 223, ar@oregonwild.org >Lindsay Raber, Pacific Wolf Coalition, (928) … Continue reading Poll: Most Oregonians Oppose Hunting of Wolves, Favor Nonlethal Conflict Prevention

Wolves Being Killed in Northeast Washington


For Immediate Release, August 3, 2016 Contacts:  Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.orgAmaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org John Mellgren, Western Environmental Law Center, (541) 359-0990, mellgren@westernlaw.org Wildlife Agency to Kill Wolves in Northeast Washington Members of Profanity Peak Pack To Be Targeted in Ferry County OLYMPIA, Wash.— Washington Department of … Continue reading Wolves Being Killed in Northeast Washington

Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals


For Immediate Release July 6, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org     Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Steve Pedery, Oregon Wild, (503) 283-6343 ext. 212, sp@oregonwild.org        Oregon Appeals Court Reinstates Legal Challenge to Premature Wolf Delisting   PORTLAND, Ore.— The Oregon Court of Appeals has … Continue reading Oregon Wolf Delisting Challenge Reinstated by Court of Appeals

Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill


For immediate release May 2, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Legal Director, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org   Ethics Complaint Filed Against State Representatives Over Gray Wolf Delisting Legislation   EUGENE, OR – Today, Cascadia Wildlands submitted a complaint to the Oregon Government Ethics Commission alleging numerous false statements and misrepresentations made by State Representatives … Continue reading Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill

Press Release: State of Oregon to Kill Alpha Pair and Two Others in Imnaha Wolf Pack


March 31, 2016 For immediate release Contact: Nick Cady, Legal Director, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746; nick@cascwild.org   UPDATE: At 2:49 pm today we received communication from ODFW that the agency lethally removed the four wolves.   Following a series of cattle and sheep depredations in Wallowa County, the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife has authorized … Continue reading Press Release: State of Oregon to Kill Alpha Pair and Two Others in Imnaha Wolf Pack

House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves


It is astonishing to folks at Cascadia Wildlands that House Bill 4040 (HB4040) was even a topic of conversation this “short” legislative session. Every other year, the Oregon legislature holds a short session that only lasts around one month, and because of the limited time for discussion and debate, usually only non-controversial bills are taken up. However, this … Continue reading House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves

Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon


For Immediate Release, February 3, 2016   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org John Mellgren, Western Law Environmental Center, (541) 359-0990, mellgren@westernlaw.org Amy Atwood, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 504-5660, atwood@biologicaldiversity.org Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, (503) 327-4923, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org Brooks Fahy, Predator Defense, (541) 937-4261, brooks@predatordefense.org Camilla Fox, Project Coyote, (415) 690-0338, cfox@projectcoyote.org   … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon

Cascadia Files Petition to Extend Wolf Monitoring


Legal Petition Seeks Extension of Federal Monitoring for Northern Rockies Wolves New Study: Hunting Likely Spurring Harmful Declines in Northern Rocky Wolves   VICTOR, Idaho — Five conservation groups filed a petition today requesting that the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service continue monitoring northern Rocky Mountain gray wolves for another five years. The existing monitoring … Continue reading Cascadia Files Petition to Extend Wolf Monitoring