Tongass Groundtruth Expedition: 2016


Photos by Jacob Ritley, Tongass Groundtruth Expedition, 2016. Thanks to LUSH Foundation for their generous support. Southeast Alaska's Alexander Archipelago is made up of thousands of islands large and small. Small boats and floatplanes are the dominant modes of transportation.  Old-growth clearcutting is ongoing this summer on the Big Thorne timber sale, Prince of Wales Island.  … Continue reading Tongass Groundtruth Expedition: 2016

Cascadia Wildlands Leads Ground-truth Expedition into Fabled Tongass National Forest


by Alaska Legal Director Gabe Scott [updated 9/8] TONGASS NATIONAL FOREST, ALASKA— Lots to report from our ground-truthing trek last week into Alaska’s Tongass National Forest. We spent a week on Wrangell, Revilla and Prince of Wales Islands with colleagues investigating proposed and active old-growth logging projects. This was a trip to the edge of the cresting … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands Leads Ground-truth Expedition into Fabled Tongass National Forest

Lawsuit Challenges Alaska Road Project from Ketchikan to Shelter Cove


For Immediate Release, April 14, 2016   Contact:     Larry Edwards, Greenpeace, (907) 747-7557, larry.edwards@greenpeace.org Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands, (907) 491-0856, gscott@cascwild.org Dune Lankard, Center for Biological Diversity, (907) 952-5265, dlankard@biologicaldiversity.org   Lawsuit Challenges Road Project From Ketchikan to Shelter Cove   KETCHIKAN, Alaska  Five environmental groups sued the U.S. Forest Service and U.S. Army … Continue reading Lawsuit Challenges Alaska Road Project from Ketchikan to Shelter Cove

U.S. Supreme Court Denies Effort to Overturn Tongass National Forest Protections


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 29, 2016 CONTACTS Gabe Scott | Cascadia Wildlands | gscott@cascwild.org | (907) 491-0856 Tom Waldo | Earthjustice | twaldo@earthjustice.org | (907) 500‐7123 Niel Lawrence | Natural Resources Defense Council | nlawrence@nrdc.org | (360) 534‐9900 Buck Lindekugel | Southeast Alaska Conservation Council | buck@seacc.org | (907) 586‐6942 Catalina Tresky | Defenders of … Continue reading U.S. Supreme Court Denies Effort to Overturn Tongass National Forest Protections

Win on the Tongass: Forest Service Withdraws Mitkof Island Old-Growth Timber Sale


For Immediate Release October 12, 2015   Contact: Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands, (907) 491-0856, gscott@cascwild.org Becky Knight , GSACC, (907) 772-9391, bknight15@hotmail.com Oliver Stiefel, Crag Law Center, (503) 227-2212, oliver@crag.org Larry Edwards, Greenpeace, (907) 747-7557, ledwards@greenpeace.org Randy Spivak, Center for Biological Diversity, (310) 779-4894, rspivak@biologicaldiversity.org Patricia O'Brien AWA-SE chapter, (907) 789-9405, patriciaobrien@gci.net   PETERSBURG, Alaska … Continue reading Win on the Tongass: Forest Service Withdraws Mitkof Island Old-Growth Timber Sale

Six Groups File for Emergency Listing for Alexander Archipelago Wolf


by Leila Kheiry, KRBD-Ketchikan September 14, 2015   Six conservation groups on Monday petitioned for an emergency Endangered Species Act listing for the Alexander Archipelago wolf.   In a letter addressed to Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell, and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Director Daniel Ashe and Regional Director Geoffrey Haskett, the groups cite … Continue reading Six Groups File for Emergency Listing for Alexander Archipelago Wolf

Appeals Court Affirms Roadless Protections on Tongass


E&E by Phil Taylor Thursday, July 30, 2015   By the thinnest of margins, the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals yesterday ruled to reinstate roadless protections on the Tongass National Forest in Alaska, marking a major victory for conservationists and tourism companies fighting to protect the temperate rainforest from new logging and a defeat … Continue reading Appeals Court Affirms Roadless Protections on Tongass

Legal Battle Results in Protections for Alaska’s Tongass National Forest


NEWS RELEASE: August 29, 2015 Contact:   Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands, 907.491.0856, gscott@cascwild.org Liz Judge, Earthjustice, 415.217.2007, ljudge@earthjustice.org Anne Hawke, 202-513-6263, ahawke@nrdc.org  Jacob Eisenberg, 202-289-2391, jeisenberg@nrdc.org   Ninth Circuit Ensures Continuing Protection of Roadless Areas of Alaska’s Tongass National Forest Court rejects attempts to exempt the Tongass from the Roadless Rule   Juneau, AK — … Continue reading Legal Battle Results in Protections for Alaska’s Tongass National Forest

Cascadia’s Efforts to Save Alaskan Wolves in the News


by Leila Kheiry, Ketchikan Community Radio for Southern Southeast Alaska Citing a state study that shows a sharp decline in the wolf population on Prince of Wales Island and surrounding islands, six conservation groups have asked state and federal officials to take steps to help preserve the remaining animals. Specifically, the six organizations want the … Continue reading Cascadia’s Efforts to Save Alaskan Wolves in the News