Reflections on the Enormous Victory in Northern Cascadia and Coming Full Circle


by Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands House Counsel Ready for some good news? Last week our partners at Eyak Preservation Council announced that the major part of Alaska’s Bering River Coalfield, and the old-growth forest on top of it, has been permanently protected!   Several things about this historic victory make it especially sweet. Ecologically it protects … Continue reading Reflections on the Enormous Victory in Northern Cascadia and Coming Full Circle

Cascadia Wildlands Leads Ground-truth Expedition into Fabled Tongass National Forest


by Alaska Legal Director Gabe Scott [updated 9/8] TONGASS NATIONAL FOREST, ALASKA— Lots to report from our ground-truthing trek last week into Alaska’s Tongass National Forest. We spent a week on Wrangell, Revilla and Prince of Wales Islands with colleagues investigating proposed and active old-growth logging projects. This was a trip to the edge of the cresting … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands Leads Ground-truth Expedition into Fabled Tongass National Forest

U.S. Supreme Court Denies Effort to Overturn Tongass National Forest Protections


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 29, 2016 CONTACTS Gabe Scott | Cascadia Wildlands | gscott@cascwild.org | (907) 491-0856 Tom Waldo | Earthjustice | twaldo@earthjustice.org | (907) 500‐7123 Niel Lawrence | Natural Resources Defense Council | nlawrence@nrdc.org | (360) 534‐9900 Buck Lindekugel | Southeast Alaska Conservation Council | buck@seacc.org | (907) 586‐6942 Catalina Tresky | Defenders of … Continue reading U.S. Supreme Court Denies Effort to Overturn Tongass National Forest Protections

FDA Approves Frankenfish, Cascadians Resist


By Gabe Scott, Alaska Legal Director   CORDOVA, AK— Frankenfish may be coming to a store near you, but not if we can help it.      Last week's decision by the Food & Drug Administration to approve Genetically Engineered Salmon for sale in the United States is hugely important. There are a lot of moving … Continue reading FDA Approves Frankenfish, Cascadians Resist

Win on the Tongass: Forest Service Withdraws Mitkof Island Old-Growth Timber Sale


For Immediate Release October 12, 2015   Contact: Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands, (907) 491-0856, gscott@cascwild.org Becky Knight , GSACC, (907) 772-9391, bknight15@hotmail.com Oliver Stiefel, Crag Law Center, (503) 227-2212, oliver@crag.org Larry Edwards, Greenpeace, (907) 747-7557, ledwards@greenpeace.org Randy Spivak, Center for Biological Diversity, (310) 779-4894, rspivak@biologicaldiversity.org Patricia O'Brien AWA-SE chapter, (907) 789-9405, patriciaobrien@gci.net   PETERSBURG, Alaska … Continue reading Win on the Tongass: Forest Service Withdraws Mitkof Island Old-Growth Timber Sale

Appeals Court Affirms Roadless Protections on Tongass


E&E by Phil Taylor Thursday, July 30, 2015   By the thinnest of margins, the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals yesterday ruled to reinstate roadless protections on the Tongass National Forest in Alaska, marking a major victory for conservationists and tourism companies fighting to protect the temperate rainforest from new logging and a defeat … Continue reading Appeals Court Affirms Roadless Protections on Tongass

Legal Battle Results in Protections for Alaska’s Tongass National Forest


NEWS RELEASE: August 29, 2015 Contact:   Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands, 907.491.0856, gscott@cascwild.org Liz Judge, Earthjustice, 415.217.2007, ljudge@earthjustice.org Anne Hawke, 202-513-6263, ahawke@nrdc.org  Jacob Eisenberg, 202-289-2391, jeisenberg@nrdc.org   Ninth Circuit Ensures Continuing Protection of Roadless Areas of Alaska’s Tongass National Forest Court rejects attempts to exempt the Tongass from the Roadless Rule   Juneau, AK — … Continue reading Legal Battle Results in Protections for Alaska’s Tongass National Forest

Cascadia’s Efforts to Save Alaskan Wolves in the News


by Leila Kheiry, Ketchikan Community Radio for Southern Southeast Alaska Citing a state study that shows a sharp decline in the wolf population on Prince of Wales Island and surrounding islands, six conservation groups have asked state and federal officials to take steps to help preserve the remaining animals. Specifically, the six organizations want the … Continue reading Cascadia’s Efforts to Save Alaskan Wolves in the News

Lawsuit Challenges Plan to Log Old-growth in Alaska


Cascadia Wildlands yesterday filed suit against the Forest Service challenging approval of the Mitkof Island timber sale, a 4,117-acre old-growth logging project on the Tongass National Forest, near Petersburg in Southeast Alaska. This lawsuit comes close on the heals of our challenge to the Big Thorne timber sale, another big old-growth sale that is currently on … Continue reading Lawsuit Challenges Plan to Log Old-growth in Alaska

Deja Vu, the Corrupt Bastards Club, and the Fabled Tongass National Forest


by Gabe Scott, Alaska Field Rep.   Do you ever get the feeling you’re running in circles?   That sense of déjà vu has been strong with me lately as we do legal battle over the Big Thorne and other massive old-growth timber sales in Southeast Alaska’s rainforest.   For all the progress we’ve made … Continue reading Deja Vu, the Corrupt Bastards Club, and the Fabled Tongass National Forest