Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon


For Immediate Release, February 3, 2016   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org John Mellgren, Western Law Environmental Center, (541) 359-0990, mellgren@westernlaw.org Amy Atwood, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 504-5660, atwood@biologicaldiversity.org Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, (503) 327-4923, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org Brooks Fahy, Predator Defense, (541) 937-4261, brooks@predatordefense.org Camilla Fox, Project Coyote, (415) 690-0338, cfox@projectcoyote.org   … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon

Huge Legal Victory for Washington’s Wolves


For Immediate Release December 21, 2015   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, 314-482-3746, nick@cascwild.org Timothy Coleman, Kettle Range Conservation Group, 509-675-3556, tcoleman@kettlerange.org Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, 406-414-7227, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org John Mellgren, Western Environmental Law Center, 541-525-5087, mellgren@westernlaw.org   Conservationists deal blow to Wildlife Services in landmark WA wolf case Court rejects indiscriminate wolf killing   OLYMPIA, … Continue reading Huge Legal Victory for Washington’s Wolves

Celebrate and Practice Wolf Awareness This Week and Beyond


By Bob Ferris   I get philosophical when riding my bike.  I got so philosophical the other night that I almost biked into an opening car door, but I digress.  A lot of my pedal-powered thinking of late has been directed at wolves, science and our various governments’ intellectual and moral responsibilities—with the Huckleberry Pack … Continue reading Celebrate and Practice Wolf Awareness This Week and Beyond

In Washington, Opposition Mounts to Notorious Federal Program’s Attempt to Grab Wolf-killing Powers


For Immediate Release, January 16, 2014   Contacts:  Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613 Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463 John Mellgren, Western Environmental Law Center, (541) 359-0990   In Washington, Opposition Mounts to Notorious Federal Program’s Attempt to Grab Wolf-killing Powers    OLYMPIA, Wash.— Eight conservation groups representing tens of thousands of … Continue reading In Washington, Opposition Mounts to Notorious Federal Program’s Attempt to Grab Wolf-killing Powers

A Good Paper to Read While Gaining an Understanding of How Coyotes Respond to Control


As we push for more enlightened views regarding coyotes and continue our work to reform or do away with USDA Wildlife Services, it is important to learn about what research tells us about coyote control.  This paper is a good place to start to learn how complicated this issue is.  Please follow the link below to … Continue reading A Good Paper to Read While Gaining an Understanding of How Coyotes Respond to Control

Scrutinize wildlife agency: DeFazio questions its costs, mission and culture


By Register Guard Editorial Staff  January 8, 2014   Congress should join the U.S. Department of Agriculture inspector general in investigating the federal government’s predator control program. The Wildlife Services agency has had far more than its share of controversy since the federal program was created nearly a century ago to oversee the trapping, shooting … Continue reading Scrutinize wildlife agency: DeFazio questions its costs, mission and culture