Cascadia Lawsuit Challenges Wolf Killing in Washington!


Lawsuit Challenges Washington Wolf-killing Protocol Injunction Sought Against Further Killings After State Nearly Wipes Out Three Packs for One Livestock Owner OLYMPIA, Wash.— Two conservation groups filed a lawsuit today seeking to stop the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and its director, James Unsworth, from killing any more state-endangered wolves. Today’s suit, filed on … Continue reading Cascadia Lawsuit Challenges Wolf Killing in Washington!

Oregon Killing Harl Butte Wolf Pack


August 3, 2017 For Immediate Release Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, nick@cascwild.org, (314) 482-3746 Oregon Killing Wolves Again in Imnaha Pack Territory Harl Butte Pack Targeted in Response to Depredations on Forest Service Lands Today, the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife signed a kill order for the Harl Butte  Pack in Northeastern Oregon.  The Harl Butte Pack … Continue reading Oregon Killing Harl Butte Wolf Pack

Washington to Kill Wolves


WDFW NEWS RELEASE  Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife 600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091  http://wdfw.wa.gov/ July 20, 2017 Contact: Donny Martorello, (360) 902-2521 WDFW plans to take lethal action to change wolf pack's behavior OLYMPIA – State wildlife managers plan to remove members of a wolf pack that has repeatedly preyed on livestock in Stevens … Continue reading Washington to Kill Wolves

Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California


For Immediate Release, March 14, 2017   Contacts:         Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org Amaroq Weiss, Center for Biological Diversity, (707) 779-9613, aweiss@biologicaldiversity.org Greg Loarie, Earthjustice, (415) 217-2000, gloarie@earthjustice.org Tom Wheeler, Environmental Protection Information Center, (707) 822-7711, tom@wildcalifornia.org Joseph Vaile, Klamath-Siskiyou Wildlands Center, (541) 488-5789, joseph@kswild.org   Conservation Groups Oppose Effort … Continue reading Cascadia Goes to Court to Defend Wolf Protections in California

Gray Wolf Background and Resources


Extermination. Seen as incompatible with the settlement of the West, the gray wolf was trapped, poisoned and shot by state and federal governments and private bounty hunters to the point of near extinction. Protection. The species has been listed on the federal Endangered Species Act since the 1973. However, as of 2019 these protections are … Continue reading Gray Wolf Background and Resources

Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill


For immediate release May 2, 2016   Contact: Nick Cady, Legal Director, Cascadia Wildlands, (314) 482-3746, nick@cascwild.org   Ethics Complaint Filed Against State Representatives Over Gray Wolf Delisting Legislation   EUGENE, OR – Today, Cascadia Wildlands submitted a complaint to the Oregon Government Ethics Commission alleging numerous false statements and misrepresentations made by State Representatives … Continue reading Ethics Complaint Filed Against Three Oregon Lawmakers Over the Wolf Delisting Bill

Lawsuit Challenges Alaska Road Project from Ketchikan to Shelter Cove


For Immediate Release, April 14, 2016   Contact:     Larry Edwards, Greenpeace, (907) 747-7557, larry.edwards@greenpeace.org Gabe Scott, Cascadia Wildlands, (907) 491-0856, gscott@cascwild.org Dune Lankard, Center for Biological Diversity, (907) 952-5265, dlankard@biologicaldiversity.org   Lawsuit Challenges Road Project From Ketchikan to Shelter Cove   KETCHIKAN, Alaska  Five environmental groups sued the U.S. Forest Service and U.S. Army … Continue reading Lawsuit Challenges Alaska Road Project from Ketchikan to Shelter Cove

House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves


It is astonishing to folks at Cascadia Wildlands that House Bill 4040 (HB4040) was even a topic of conversation this “short” legislative session. Every other year, the Oregon legislature holds a short session that only lasts around one month, and because of the limited time for discussion and debate, usually only non-controversial bills are taken up. However, this … Continue reading House Bill 4040 and the Politics of Delisting Oregon’s Wolves

Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon


For Immediate Release, February 3, 2016   Contacts: Nick Cady, Cascadia Wildlands, (541) 434-1463, nick@cascwild.org John Mellgren, Western Law Environmental Center, (541) 359-0990, mellgren@westernlaw.org Amy Atwood, Center for Biological Diversity, (503) 504-5660, atwood@biologicaldiversity.org Bethany Cotton, WildEarth Guardians, (503) 327-4923, bcotton@wildearthguardians.org Brooks Fahy, Predator Defense, (541) 937-4261, brooks@predatordefense.org Camilla Fox, Project Coyote, (415) 690-0338, cfox@projectcoyote.org   … Continue reading Cascadia Wildlands Challenges Wildlife Services’ Wolf Killing in Oregon

Cascadia Files Petition to Extend Wolf Monitoring


Legal Petition Seeks Extension of Federal Monitoring for Northern Rockies Wolves New Study: Hunting Likely Spurring Harmful Declines in Northern Rocky Wolves   VICTOR, Idaho — Five conservation groups filed a petition today requesting that the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service continue monitoring northern Rocky Mountain gray wolves for another five years. The existing monitoring … Continue reading Cascadia Files Petition to Extend Wolf Monitoring